Changing negative belief systems can stop gang violence

Changing negative belief systems can stop gang violence“This can happen everywhere, even if it’s not us doing it,” he says. “They might not do exactly what we are doing but once we all start thinking the same way the possibilities are endless.” “When I’m talking to a 15-year-old or to the men I used to roll with, I talk about progress. I ask: ‘Are you happy with the way you are living right now?’ If they have children I say: ‘What are you raising them to be?’ We are not telling them to change right now because for some people that’s impossible. But once you’ve planted the seed, you can start the conversation. It’s all about the mind and what people believe they can do.”

http://positivenews.org.uk/2013/community/positive_people/13365/changing-negative-belief-systems-stop-gang-violence/

 

